2022-01-02: Three cool links

Three cool links:

https://communityclothing.co.uk/

Cool company making nicely plain clothing in bright colours (that indigo duster jacket—phwoar!) that isn’t *too* expensive. Oh and they were founded by Patrick Grant of the /Great British Sewing Bee/ which is fun (though we all love Esme more). Ordered myself some sweatshirts and t-shirts. Found via Hiut Jean’s newsletter.

https://www.tofugu.com/japan/chindogu-japanese-inventions/

This tickled a nerve. Chindogu (珍道具) are useless arty japanese inventions that solve a useless task in a useless way. There is a whole philosophy behind them but the bit that made me laugh was the /completely useless/ clause. These things must absolutely not work, but for reasons that make you smile. There is something nicely absurd in it all, and the juxtaposition with absolute seriousness with absolute silliness is something I love. I have a secret desire to write an entire scientific paper in iambic pentameter to prove a point, or drawing 301 erotic snorlaxes (it isn’t funny if its 30) or making 26 advent worms (why worms?). I should write my blog on it tomorrow now that is a good idea! I’ll need ideas if I’m to complete this challenge!

https://www.seriouseats.com/the-best-yorkshire-pudding-popover-recipe

Look, I’m British. Yorkshire pudding is a serious matter and this is the best recipe. I normally don’t bother with the resting and was always impressed by the size but I did for Christmas this year and my word it made a difference. These things are immense. I’m also told by Felicity Croake’s recipe in The Guardian is good (and similar) but this is the one I use. There are many like it but this one is mine…

Yorkshire pudding is grand on a Sunday,
When you cook roast and save some for Monday,
You fill it up all with gravy,
Float veg in it like a navy,
Til they leak, and ships sink, what a sad day!